• 0000

And I Darken

Item #: 7793553

List Price: $18.99

$14.24 Your Price


Shipped from Supplier

This vividly rendered novel reads like HBO's Game of Thrones . . . if it were set in the Ottoman Empire. Ambitious in scope and intimate in execution, the story's atmospheric setting is rife with political intrigue, with a deftly plotted narrative driven by fiercely passionate characters. Fans of Victoria Aveyard's The Red Queen, Kristin Cashore's Graceling and Sabaa Tahir's An Ember in the Ashes won't want to miss this visceral, immersive and mesmerizing novel, the first in a trilogy.

No one expects a princess to be brutal. And Lada Dragwlya likes it that way. Ever since she and her gentle younger brother, Radu, were wrenched from their homeland of Wallachia and abandoned by their father to be raised in the Ottoman courts, Lada has known that being ruthless is the key to survival. She and Radu are doomed to act as pawns in a vicious game, an unseen sword hovering over their every move. For the lineage that makes them special also makes them targets. Lada despises the Ottomans and bides her time, planning her vengeance for the day when she can return to Wallachia and claim her birthright. Radu longs only for a place where he feels safe. And when they meet Mehmed, the defiant and lonely son of the sultan, who's expected to rule a nation, Radu feels that he's made a true friend - and Lada wonders if she's finally found someone worthy of her passion. But Mehmed is heir to the very empire that Lada has sworn to fight against - and that Radu now considers home. Together, Lada, Radu and Mehmed form a toxic triangle that strains the bonds of love and loyalty to the breaking point. From New York Times bestselling author Kiersten White comes the first book in a dark, sweeping new series in which heads will roll, bodies will be impaled . . . and hearts will be broken.

Kiersten White is the New York Times bestselling author of the Paranormalcy trilogy; the dark thrillers Mind Games and Perfect Lies; The Chaos of Stars; and Illusions of Fate. She also coauthored In the Shadows with Jim Di Bartolo. She lives with her family near the ocean in San Diego, which, in spite of its perfection, spurs her to dream of faraway places and even further away times.

Page Count
Random House Young Adult
Publisher (Publication Date)
28 June 2016
Kiersten White
Ages (yrs)
Grade Level
Juvenile Fiction / General
Religious / Royalty
Length (in.)
1.2 in.
Width (Inches)
6 in.
9 in.
1.6 lbs.
Back to top

FREE SHIPPING on all orders purchased with your Military Star Card or orders totaling $49 or more. Non-Military Star Card purchases valued less than $49 will incur a $4.95 shipping fee. Shipping/handling fees may be applied to oversized items.

Delivery is restricted to locations within the continental U.S.,(excludes Alaska, Hawaii or Puerto Rico). Order must include recipient's street address (no P.O. Box or General Delivery address) and daytime phone number.
This item is shipped directly from our supplier. Your account will be charged at the time order is placed. Please allow approximately 2 days for shipment.

  • CONUS ONLY items may only be shipped to zip codes with the 48 contiguous states
  • PAC ONLY items may only be shipped to zip codes falling within the Pacific Theater
  • EUROPE ONLY items may be shipped to zip codes falling within the European Theater
  • HAWAII ONLY may only be shipped to zip codes authorized for Hawaii
  • ALASKA ONLY may only be shipped to zip codes authorized for Alaska
  • APO/FPO AVAILABLE are items that can be shipped to APO/FPO/MPO/DPO