• 0000

The Innocent Man: Murder and Injustice in a Small Town

Item #: 5266141

List Price: $9.99

$7.50 Your Price


Out of Stock.

Enter email address. You will be notified when item is in stock.

Confirm email address.

#1 New York Times Bestseller

In the vein of Serial and Making a Murderer, John Grisham's first work of nonfiction will terrify anyone who believes in the presumption of innocence. Impeccably researched, grippingly told, filled with eleventh-hour drama, it's a book no American can afford to miss.

In the town of Ada, Oklahoma, Ron Williamson was going to be the next Mickey Mantle. But on his way to the Big Leagues, Ron stumbled, his dreams broken by drinking, drugs and women. Then, on a winter night in 1982, not far from Ron's home, a young cocktail waitress named Debra Sue Carter was savagely murdered. The investigation led nowhere.

Until, on the flimsiest evidence, it led to Ron Williamson. The washed-up small-town hero was charged, tried, and sentenced to death - in a trial littered with lying witnesses and tainted evidence that would shatter a man's already broken life, and let a true killer go free.

Praise for The Innocent Man

"Grisham has written both an American tragedy and his strongest legal thriller yet, all the more gripping because it happens to be true." - Entertainment Weekly

"Grisham has crafted a legal thriller every bit as suspenseful and fast-paced as his bestselling fiction." - The Boston Globe

"A gritty, harrowing true-crime story." - Time

"A triumph." - The Seattle Times

Page Count
Bantam Book
Publisher (Publication Date)
27 March 2012
John Grisham
Ages (yrs)
18 years and up
Grade Level
12th and up
True Crime / Murder / General
Social Science / Penology / Law / Criminal Law
Length (in.)
1.19 in.
Width (Inches)
4.25 in.
7.56 in.
0.57 lbs.
Back to top

FREE SHIPPING on all orders purchased with your Military Star Card or orders totaling $49 or more. Non-Military Star Card purchases valued less than $49 will incur a $4.95 shipping fee. Shipping/handling fees may be applied to oversized items.

Delivery is restricted to locations within the continental U.S.,(excludes Alaska, Hawaii or Puerto Rico). Order must include recipient's street address (no P.O. Box or General Delivery address) and daytime phone number.
This item is shipped directly from our supplier. Your account will be charged at the time order is placed. Please allow approximately 2 days for shipment.

  • CONUS ONLY items may only be shipped to zip codes with the 48 contiguous states
  • PAC ONLY items may only be shipped to zip codes falling within the Pacific Theater
  • EUROPE ONLY items may be shipped to zip codes falling within the European Theater
  • HAWAII ONLY may only be shipped to zip codes authorized for Hawaii
  • ALASKA ONLY may only be shipped to zip codes authorized for Alaska
  • APO/FPO AVAILABLE are items that can be shipped to APO/FPO/MPO/DPO